Sharpen the Points

sharpening

That’s right.  It’s time to sharpen the points because summer darts season starts tonight.  For some of you that might not sound so colossal, but it sounds great to me.  I like darts and I like the friendly competition that goes with it.  I like the dim lights of the Legion and the reasonably priced beer that goes with it.

The winter season did not go horribly well for me.  I was firmly at the bottom of the league rankings.  Whenever I won, the people above me did to and I couldn’t move up.  My game was less than stellar until the very last weeks.  Unfortunately, ground lost was hard to make up.darts

This represents a new start.  I haven’t picked up a dart in about a month, so I don’t expect Phil Taylor or Michael Van Gerwin kind of genius.  I’d settle for not getting my ass kicked.

For those of you out there who’ve seen the hard to quantify spectacle on television, my league isn’t like that at all.  No models walk us to the line, no fans watch dressed in costume and 180’s, while not unheard of, are far from the norm.  If you’ve got a spare evening, I would suggest you take it up.

Leave a Reply

