A Great Time To Be A Nerd

avengers

“It’s a great time to be a nerd.”

That was a direct quote from one of my colleagues.  He is far from nerdy, but his inner nerd child does show itself from time to time.

I guess he is right.  We’ve got superhero television shows and movie franchises all over the place.  Grade A actors are practically begging to be in these movies.  I just came back from a sold out viewing of the Avengers: The Age of Ultron and there were lots of different people in the theatre.  There were families, and girls, women.

Where was this when I was growing up?  I remember walking into the Silver Snail and not even seeing one woman, let alone the dozens I saw today.  When the few of my friends who managed to have girlfriends even mentioned comic books they got killer eye rolls.  Now, those same friends have wives that are reserving tickets for them.

The times they are a changing.  Can’t fault Bob on his logic, but did he really envision such an incredible change?

Maybe it is the technology.  We can put things on the movie screen that we never could before.  We can depict the fantastic so well that real life seems dull by comparison.  I’m not complaining, but my bus ride to work will never be the same.

I won’t spoil the movie for anyone reading.  I saw it.  I enjoyed it.  I may have to go and see it again.

Leave a Reply

