Reboot

The History

A couple of years ago, I started writing a blog on hobbies.  People said it would be fun and it would give me a lot of writing practice.  I searched the internet for places to blog and settled on blogger because it came so highly recommended.  Most people explained that it was easy to use, looked pretty good, and that I had a chance to make some money.  That all sounded attractive to me.

They were quite correct.  Setting up the blog, and others, was quite easy.  I generally liked the look of it and was quite satisfied with the results.  I tried my hand at the money thing in various incarnations but failed to cash in on that.  This was the result of a combination of overzealousness by my students and a lack of page views .  If you don’t attract the people, you probably won’t be the next internet sensation.

Nonetheless, I soldiered on.  What I found was that I liked the writing and I enjoyed the small amount of interaction with readers.  It just didn’t grow at all, and very few people left any comments.  At the time, I figured this was normal, but I wondered why blogging was popular if you didn’t get a lot of comments.

Then a funny thing happened.  I started a blog on WordPress (the free one) because I just wanted to write something different.  While it isn’t a runaway hit (or featured on Freshly Pressed) it did seem to garner more of a following.  I realized that WP did a better job of promoting within itself, and creating a community of bloggers.

So that’s why I am here.  I am hoping for a bigger audience and greater interaction.  Only time will tell, but I am quiet optimistic.

The Name

When I started on Blogger, I called this blog Jack of All Hobbies.  I thought I was being witty.  I figured people would get the allusion to jack of all trades, master of none.  Instead, people just thought my name was Jack (which it isn’t) and I wasn’t smart at all.  I probably should have changed the title, but by then it just seemed like too much work.  As of now, I am trying to decide if I should be “A Man with Too Many Hobbies” or “Too Many Hobbies–So Little Time.”  Please let me know what you think.

The Future

I will continue to write about hobbies and anything that resembles a hobby.  My definition is quite broad, so you never know what I will write about.  Figure that books, things Japanese, food, cycling, and models will all be part of it.  Then again, it could be stamps, cards, exercise or YouTube.  Who really knows.

I will also have to play with the format quite a bit–so expect some changes.  We will see what works and what doesn’t.  Feel free to give your opinion.

A Look Back

I will eventually delete this blog, but if you want to see how it looked, please check here.  If the link is broken, that means I deleted the page.

4 thoughts on “Reboot

  1. Funny, I was thinking of checking out blogger for a new blog since you were on it, so interesting that you’re moving to word press. Aside from the better traffic, any other differences? Ability to “like” pages on WordPress is a welcome nod that someone out there is reading. Also, are you on Pinterest? Lots of hobby stuff there. Ps original blog title is more witty

    Liked by 1 person

    • The things that I liked (and still like ) about blogger include:
      time tracking of stats–they can show that someone logged on at a precise minute.
      lots of interesting widgets.
      easy to use
      if you do manage to get an audience, you can monetize your site
      Things I didn’t like include:
      They had an “editor’s pick” but it hadn’t changed in more than a year.
      I received very few comments and there didn’t really seem to be a community.
      As for the title–thank you. What do you think of my two choices–I will eventually put up a vote/poll kind of thing about it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

